All material found in the Press Releases section is provided by parties entirely independent of Musical America, which is not responsible for content.

Press Releases

Composer John Adams receives »Glashütte Original MusicFestivalAward« 2021 - digital award ceremony on May 30, 2021

May 12, 2021 | By Dresden Music Festival

Composer John Adams receives »Glashütte Original MusicFestivalAward« 2021 - digital award ceremony on May 30, 2021

The American composer and conductor John Adams is one of the most performed living composers. His works are heard worldwide and often reflect significant political events, including the opera »Nixon in China« or his Pulitzer Prize-winning work in memory of September 11, 2001, »On the Transmigration of Souls«. Minimalism meets imaginative orchestrations and jazzy verve in Adams’ works, drawing attention both musically and intellectually to the relevance of classical music in our time.

This year, John Adams is awarded the »Glashütte Original MusicFestivalAward« for his life-time achievement. The award will be presented as part of a concert live stream of the Dresden Music Festival in New York on May 30, 2021. The Knights will perform under the baton of Eric Jacobsen with Gil Shaham (violin) and Timo Andres (piano) as soloists.

»John Adams has inspired generations of composers, musicians and listeners with his music. We are delighted to be able to honour one of the great composers of our time, who also has many fans in Germany, with this year’s ›Glashütte Original MusicFestivalAward‹,« says Jan Vogler, director of the Dresden Music Festival.

In 2021, the »Glashütte Original MusicFestivalAward«, endowed with 25,000 Euros, will be donated by the watch manufacturer Glashütte Original and awarded together with the Dresden Music Festival for the 18th time. Glashütte Original has been striving to preserve the unique heritage of the Glashütte watchmaking artistry since 1845 and, just like the distinguished artist, set the highest standards of quality for their works of art. Students of the manufacture’s own watchmaking school »Alfred Helwig« have created the award again this year. Previous award winners include Hélène Grimaud, Hilary Hahn, fado singer Mariza, Andris Nelsons, Steven Isserlis, Joyce DiDonato, Joshua Bell and singer Barbara Hannigan.

The award ceremony will be broadcast on May 30, 2021, 8 p.m. on the website and the social media channels (Youtube, Facebook, Twitter) of the Dresden Music Festival.

Program: The Knights; Eric Jacobsen, Conductor; Gil Shaham, Violin; Timo Andres, Piano

John Adams »Shaker Loops« and »I still play«; Pieces of Johann Sebastian Bach

The 44th Dresden Music Festival will start on May 24, 2021 with a week of live-streamed concerts and plans an adapted festival version for June.



Law and Disorder by GG Arts Law

Career Advice by Legendary Manager Edna Landau

An American in Paris by Frank Cadenhead



Search Musical America's archive of photos from 1900-1992.