Douglas Knehans
"... radiant and multicolored. This is music of tremendous imagination. Knehans scores with a masterly hand, his sound paintbrush unerringly hitting the mark. The orchestral writing is magnificent."

—Fanfare Magazine

Worldwide Management
Josephine McLachlan
Ablaze Records Artist Management
PO Box 42535
Cincinnati, OH 45242-0535
With a gift for extravagant color, beautiful melodic style, and engaging, soulfully dramatic work, the music of award winning composer Douglas Knehans has gained attention around the world. Knehans’ two-piano work cascade has been hailed by Fanfare Magazine as "… effective … incisive … hauntingly beautiful …" A disc of his early music for acoustic and electric cello was released on Ablaze Records in the fall of 2010 and was called "… amazingly sophisticated … very beautiful … intriguing … captivating …" by Audiophile Audition. Fanfare Magazine praised his recent disc Concertos when reporting, "This is music of tremendous imagination. Knehans scores with a masterly hand, his sound paintbrush unerringly hitting the mark. The orchestral writing is magnificent."
Knehans has received awards from the American Music Center, the NEA, the Australia Council Performing Arts Board, Yale University, the MacDowell Colony, Opera Australia, The Cannes Film Festival, Carnegie Hall, The Kennedy Center, The National Symphony Orchestra, The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Meet the Composer and a host of others. His works have been broadcast on ABC Radio and Television (Australia); NPR and PBS (USA); RAI Radio and Television (Italy); and HTKY, the National Television Broadcaster in Ukraine.
Douglas Knehans (b. 1957) received his initial music education at the Australian National University. He has received scholarships and awards from Queens College, CUNY where he gained his M.A. in composition with Distinguished Professor and renowned composer Thea Musgrave, receiving the first Luigi Dallapiccola Composition Award (1991) for outstanding achievement in music composition. In 1991 Knehans entered the Doctoral program at Yale University where he studied with Pulitzer Prize winning composer Jacob Druckman, graduating with the Woods Chandler Memorial Prize (1993) for best composition in a larger form.
Knehans has been chair of Composition at the University of Alabama School of Music; was Professor of Music and Director of the University of Tasmania Conservatorium of Music between 2000-2008; and Dean of the College-Conservatory of Music (CCM) at the University of Cincinnati from 2008-2010. He is currently the Norman Dinerstein Professor of Composition Scholar at CCM. He self-publishes his music under the Armadillo Edition imprint. His music is available on New World Records, ERM Media, Crystal Records, Move Records and Ablaze Records.

" 'Winter Steps' is a witty, ambitious, inventive and passionate work ... a brief and powerful piece..."
Tuscaloosa News
"... wildly inventive ..."
The Miami Herald
"... beautiful ... exciting ..."
The Washington Post
"... his choral music [is] well rooted and accessible, and always seems to hit an emotional nerve."
Classical Music Sentinel
"... amazingly sophisticated ... captivating ..."
Audiophile Audition

Douglas Knehans, composer
Ablaze Records
Douglas Knehans—Lux Dei
New Works for Choir
Ablaze Records
Douglas Knehans—Fractured Traces
New Works for Cello
Ablaze Records